In the state of Alabama, Chiropractors are required to undergo chiropractic continuing education each year in order to renew their chiropractic license. The licensing process is governed by the Alabama State Board Of Chiropractic Examiners. The Alabama State Board Of Chiropractic Examiners can be reached at 1-(800)-949-5838. The term of each license year is annual, per fiscal year running from October 1st through September 30th. A fee of $300 is required for annual license renewal.
Basic Guidelines For Chiropractic Continuing Education In Alabama
- Renewed Annually On September 30th
- Minimum Of 18 Continuing Education Hours
- Continuing Education hours must be approved by the Alabama State Board Of Chiropractic
- 2 of the 18 Continuing Education hours must be in Board approved courses on chiropractic regulation and compliance with the Alabama Chiropractic Practice Act and Board rules
- Up to 6 hours of Distance Learning is allowed
- All providers of distance based continuing education courses must be an entity approved by the Board
* Alabama Chiropractic Continuing Education requirements posted on this page are based upon the most up to date information available. Alabama chiropractic continuing education requirements are subject to change and therefore, Alabama Chiropractic licensee’s are ultimately responsible for being up to date with the Alabama continuing education requirements.
* Information Last Updated 10/30/11
190-X-2-.11 Renewal Of License.
- (1) Annual Renewal Required. Each license shall be subject to renewal on September 30 of the year for which it is issued and every person having a valid license may on or before September 30th renew the license for the ensuing year by the payment to the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners of the fees set forth below. Each licensee shall complete a renewal form provided by the Executive Director of the Board. Renewal notices will be mailed or emailed in August of each year.
- (2) Continuing Professional Education Required. A minimum of 18 hours of continuing education as approved by the Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners is required annually for license renewal.
(a) As a condition of licensure renewal for those who are currently licensed and actively practicing in this state, a chiropractor must obtain every year a minimum of two (2) hours of continuing education in Board approved courses on chiropractic regulation and compliance with the Alabama Chiropractic Practice Act and Board rules. The two (2) hours are included in the minimum of 18 hours.
(b) For those who receive a license after October 1, 2004 and are actively practicing in this state a chiropractor must obtain four (4) hours of the continuing education referred to in (a) above within one (1) year of licensure.
(c) For those who are licensed to practice in this state but who are not actively practicing in this state, the continuing education referenced in (a) above must be obtained within twelve months of actively practicing in this state.
(d) The requirement set forth in (a), (b) and (c) above may be satisfied by distance-based continuing education in addition to the distance-based education allowed in paragraph (3).
- (3) No more than one third (1/3) of the required hours may be completed in a distance based continuing education format which complies with the provisions of this rule. Annually shall mean October 1, – September 30 of each year.
(a) All providers of distance based continuing education courses must be an entity approved by the Board.
(b) Providers shall submit to the Board:
1. The required fee and a completed FCLB Uniform Continuing Education Application.
2. Curriculum Vitae of the course instructor(s).
3. Proof of policies and procedures for implementation and evaluation of the course and the educational units.
4. Electronic records of contact hours awarded to the licensee in a format and method specified by the Board.
- (4) All seminars, workshops, and/or conventions staged in or out of the State of Alabama must be submitted to the Board for their approval. After examination of the subject material, the Board, in its discretion, may grant credit towards license renewal. In determining whether credit is granted and the number of credit hours granted, the Board shall consider the apparent quality of the material taught and its professional value to the practitioner.
The continuing educational requirement for the purpose of license renewal for any person who has graduated from a recognized CCE chiropractic college within the licensure year immediately preceding the licensure year indicated on the license renewal form except hours required in (2)(b) above may be met through attendance at a recognized CCE chiropractic college (a minimum of 18 hours). This applies only to the first license renewal period after initial licensing.
During the grace period (October 1 to December 31) for renewal, a licensee may complete any continuing education
requirements for renewal that the licensee failed to complete during the prior fiscal year. Hours obtained during the grace period do not qualify or apply to the deferral procedure outlined below. Hours must be received in the board office before January 1 to avoid reinstatement.
- (5) Educational Requirement May Be Waived Or Deferred.
(a) A licensee who cannot complete the continuing educational requirements because of personal illness, military service or other circumstances beyond the licensees control which the board deems to be sufficient to impose a hardship may apply for a waiver or deferral of time to complete the continuing education requirements. Any wavier or deferral of time to complete the education requirements will be granted solely in the discretion of the board.
(b) A licensee seeking a wavier or deferral must make application on the form provided by the Executive Director of the
Board, prior to the December 31 license expiration for completion of the education requirement. For waivers or deferrals due to illness, the application form must be accompanied by a written statement from a physician stating the diagnosis, prognosis and length of time the licensee will be unable to practice or attend an educational program. Waivers or deferrals due to illness may be granted only to a licensee who has suffered a personal illness or personal disability of a nature that prevented or will prevent him/her from engaging in the active practice of chiropractic for a significant portion of the continuing education period.
(c) All licensees seeking wavier or deferral shall provide full and complete written documentation of the grounds
supporting the reasons for which a deferral is sought. A licensee who request a wavier or deferral of time to complete the required hours of continuing education shall not engage in the active practice of chiropractic beyond December 31 of any year and until the board grants the licensee’s request for wavier or deferral.
- (6) Renewal Fee Required.
(a) A fee not exceeding $300.00 to be fixed by rule of the Board is required for annual license renewal. The renewal
fee is $300.00. This fee may be submitted in cashier’s check, bank certified check, money order, or personal check. If a personal check is returned for insufficient funds, a $30.00 bookkeeping charge will be levied.
(b) A licensee who is prevented from practicing chiropractic by reason of physical disability, temporary active
duty with any of the armed forces of the United States, or while any licensee is completely retired from the practice of chiropractic may request a waiver or reduction of the fee for annual renewal. The waiver or reduction shall be effective so long as the disability, temporary active duty or complete retirement continues. Licensee must notify the Board within fifteen (15) days from the onset of any claimed physical disability, temporary active duty or complete retirement as set forth above. Licensee shall notify the Board within fifteen (15) days when any such condition no longer is applicable. Forms for waiver or reduction of fees must be obtained from the Office of the Executive Director.
- (7) Late Penalty. A penalty shall be charged any person who fails to pay the renewal fee by September 30. The late penalty for renewal during the month of October is fifty dollars ($50), for renewal during the month of November is one hundred dollars ($100) and for renewal during the month of December is two hundred and fifty dollars ($250).
- (8) Lapsed License. A chiropractor may continue to practice until December 31 of the year for which a license is
issued subject to Code of Ala. 1975, Section 34-24-165(b).