In the state of Arkansas, Chiropractors are required to undergo chiropractic continuing education each year in order to renew their chiropractic license. The licensing process is governed by the Arkansas State Board Of Chiropractic Examiners. The Arkansas State Board Of Chiropractic Examiners can be reached at (501) 682-9015. The term of each license year is annual, expiring on December 31st. A fee of $200 is required for annual license renewal. ($125 if Out Of State.)
Basic Guidelines For Chiropractic Continuing Education In Arkansas
- Renewed Annually On January 1st
- Minimum Of 24 Continuing Education Hours If Practicing In State
- Minimum Of 12 Continuing Education Hours If Practicing Out Of State
- Continuing Education Courses must be approved by the Arkansas State Board Of Chiropractic Examiners
- Up to 12 hours of Distance Learning is allowed
* Arkansas Chiropractic Continuing Education requirements posted on this page are based upon the most up to date information available. Arkansas chiropractic continuing education requirements are subject to change and therefore, Arkansas Chiropractic licensee’s are ultimately responsible for being up to date with the Arkansas continuing education requirements.
* Information Last Updated 11/13/11
Arkansas Chiropractic Rules And Regulations (PDF)
3. Continuing Education.
In compliance with provisions of the Arkansas Chiropractic Practices Act, each licensed Doctor of Chiropractic, practicing in this state, must submit to this Board each year evidence of having satisfactorily completed not less than twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, acquired during the preceding twelve (12) months, at some approved college of chiropractic or at some approved educational seminar. This may include specific courses of instruction, including up to twelve (12) hours of preapproved videotaped education, with on-site Board member supervision, pertinent to the practice of chiropractic, or courses conducted by the Board.
(a) Courses or seminars conducted by colleges holding status with the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE), or those courses or seminars sponsored by state or national associations will, generally, be approved provided the course content and instructional staff comply with CCE, and this Board’s criteria.
(b) Courses or seminars taught in conjunction with, or in association with, and not sponsored and managed by an approved college or association, with their regular faculty and post-graduate instructors, will not be approved.
(c) Itinerant or for-profit courses or those conducted by commercial enterprises will not be approved unless conducted by an association approved by the Board for the teaching of scientific courses pertaining to the profession.
(d) Approval of continuing education programs which are not approved by the Council on Chiropractic Education nor conducted by approved Chiropractic Colleges, State or National Organizations, shall meet the following criteria:
(1) To allow for a maximum of twelve (12) credit hours.
(2) Courses or programs must be approved by the Board in advance.
(3) The course, program, or seminar must be conducted by a recognized and reputable school, university, hospital, organization or interdisciplinary organization.
(4) Speakers or lecturers must be recognized as having expertise in the field of study.
(5) Course work must be at the physician level.
(6) Content of the program must be scientific, recognized by reputable authorities as having validity, and related to the practice of Chiropractic.
(7) Program or seminar must not be offered by a group or commercial enterprise, which primarily promotes specific products, services or equipment. A commercial enterprise may request approval of a seminar but the course contents and lecturer’s expertise would be carefully scrutinized.
(8) Approval of a course is for a one-year period and re-application must be made each year. Approval may be withdrawn at any time if intent of the law and regulations of this Board are not complied with.
(9) If a commercial enterprise requests approval by this Board, it must consent to permit attendance at the seminar by an investigative committee of this Board at no cost to the Board, including travel and other necessary expenses.
(e) All continuing education courses must have prior approval by this Board before credit can be given.
(f) Continuing Education Sponsor Processing Fee. In addition to meeting the requirement set forth for approval of continuing education programs, sponsors shall remit a five dollar ($5) processing fee per every credit hour of instruction for each seminar per subject material, per calendar year to be submitted with the information required for program approval.
(g) Distance-based learning courses offered by electronic media in audio and/or visual format, such as through the Internet, which otherwise comply with these rules may be approved by the Board if the course meets the following criteria:
(1) The sponsor, organization or participant must have preapproval through the regular continuing education process for the State of Arkansas.
(2) The course must be test and time monitored to insure active participation by the licensee. The Internet education provider should provide a mechanism for verifying participation in the course.
(3) A maximum of twelve (12) distance-based learning credit hours may be submitted by a licensee during each licensing period.