Chiropractic Continuing Education Requirements In Florida

In the state of Florida, Chiropractors are required to undergo chiropractic continuing education during each 2 year period in order to renew their chiropractic license. The licensing process is governed by the Florida Board Of Chiropractic Medicine. The Florida Board Of Chiropractic Medicine can be reached at (850) 245-4355. The term of each license year is biannual, with renewal due by March 30th of even-numbered years. A fee of $500 is required for license renewal.

Basic Guidelines For Chiropractic Continuing Education In Florida

  • Renewed biannually On March 30th of even-numbered years
  • All Chiropractic Physicians are required to complete 40 hours of CE each biennium
    • One (1) hour of risk management CE
    • Two (2) hours of Florida laws and rules CE
    • Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors
    • Six (6) hours of record keeping/documentation and coding
    • Two (2) hours in the area of ethics and boundaries
    • 27 hours in general CE
  • Initial Licensure Biennium: All new practitioners are required to obtain 5 hours of CE in risk management during the first 12 months of licensure by attending one full day or eight hours at a Florida Board meeting where disciplinary hearings are conducted. Six hours record-keeping & two hours ethics, except those referenced in Rule 64B2-13.0045, FAC, required during the biennium in which the practitioner is initially licensed.
  • Distance Learning is not allowed
  • Beginning on April 1, 2012, each licensee certified in acupuncture by the Board shall obtain four (4) hours of Board approved acupuncture continuing education. Two (2) hours shall be in the area of safety and risk management and two (2) hours shall be in the area of technique. These four (4) hours shall be obtained as part of the forty (40) hours required in each licensure biennium. Licensees certified in acupuncture must complete the hours required in subsection 64B2-13.004(2), F.A.C.

Links:
Florida Board Of Chiropractic Medicine
Florida Chiropractic Association
Florida Chiropractic Rules And Statutes

* Florida Chiropractic Continuing Education requirements posted on this page are based upon the most up to date information available. Florida chiropractic continuing education requirements are subject to change and therefore, Florida Chiropractic licensee’s are ultimately responsible for being up to date with the Florida continuing education requirements.

* Information Last Updated 11/5/11

64B2-13.004 Continuing Education. (Chiropractic) Effective Date 8/12/11
(1) For the purpose of renewing or reactivating a license, an applicant must demonstrate to the Board that he or she participated in at least forty (40) classroom hours of continuing chiropractic education, during all bienniums during which the license was inactive, or for purposes of renewal during the past two years, of which at least three hours shall be with regard to risk management with two of these three risk management hours specifically relating to the laws and rules of the board and the regulatory agency under which the Board operates. For the purpose of this rule, risk management means the identification, investigation, analysis, and evaluation of risks and the selection of the most advantageous method of correcting, reducing or eliminating identifiable risks. The laws and rules of the Board and the regulatory agency under which the Board operates include Chapters 456 and 460, F.S., and Rule Chapter 64B2, F.A.C.
(2) Only those classroom hours earned at Board approved continuing education courses or under the provisions of this rule are acceptable. Beginning April 1, 2008, in addition to hours in risk management, six (6) hours of the forty (40) shall be in the area of record keeping/documentation and coding; and two (2) hours of the forty (40) must be in the area of ethics and boundaries.
(3) Beginning on April 1, 2012, each licensee certified in acupuncture by the Board shall obtain four (4) hours of Board approved acupuncture continuing education. Two (2) hours shall be in the area of safety and risk management and two (2) hours shall be in the area of technique. These four (4) hours shall be obtained as part of the forty (40) hours required in each licensure biennium. Licensees certified in acupuncture must complete the hours required in subsection 64B2-13.004(2), F.A.C.
(4) Continuing education providers, including providers of continuing education in AIDS and risk management, seeking initial approval of continuing education courses by the Board shall pay a fee of $250. Continuing education providers seeking renewal for the providership of approved courses shall also pay a $250 fee each biennium. The initial fee and renewal fee shall be assessed per provider and not per course. To receive Board approval, a continuing education course:
(a) Should be submitted for the Board’s approval prior to the date of the scheduled presentation;
(b) Must be offered for the purpose of keeping the licensee apprised of advancements and new developments in at least one of the following areas, provided that the continuing education is within the scope of chiropractic practice as defined in Chapter 460, F.S.:
1. General or spinal anatomy;
2. Physiology;
3. General or neuro-muscular diagnosis;
4. X-ray technique or interpretation;
5. Chemistry;
6. Pathology;
7. Microbiology;
8. Public health;
9. Principles or practice of chiropractic;
10. Risk management;
11. Laboratory diagnosis;
12. Nutrition;
13. Physiotherapy;
14. Phlebotomy;
15. Acupuncture;
16. Proprietary drug administration;
17. AIDS;
18. Law relating to the practice of chiropractic, the Board of Chiropractic Medicine and the regulatory agency under which the Board operates.
(c) Shall have its sponsor submit to the Board at least the following:
1. A detailed course outline or syllabus, including such items as method of instruction, testing materials, if any; and
2. A current curriculum vitae of each speaker or lecturer appearing in the program; and
3. The procedure to be used for recording attendance of those attendees seeking to apply for continuing education credit and the procedure for certification by the program’s registrar of attendance to be submitted to the Board as verification;
(d) Shall be taught by one or more speakers or lecturers with at least one of the following qualifications:
1. A current faculty member of a chiropractic college or school maintaining a standard and reputability approved by the Board, or a current faculty member at a medical or osteopathic college or a university which college or university is accredited by, or has status with, an agency or its successor which is recognized and approved by the United States Office of Education or the Council on Post Secondary Accreditation; or
2. A post-graduate level instructor of a chiropractic college or school maintaining a standard and reputability approved by the Board, or a post-graduate level instructor at a medical or osteopathic college or a university which college or university is accredited by, or has status with, an agency or its successor which is recognized and approved by the United States Office of Education or the Council on Post Secondary Accreditation.
(5) Beginning April 1, 2008, when attending an approved course, a licensee must provide a photo identification and sign in and out each time they enter or exit the meeting site and the licensee’s attendance must be certified by the course’s registrar and submitted to the Board as verification.
(6) Out of State licensees may satisfy the requirement of continuing education in the laws and rules of the Board and the regulatory agency under which the Board operates by certifying that they have obtained and read a copy of Chapters 456 and 460, F.S., and Rule Chapter 64B2, F.A.C. A copy of said laws and rules may be obtained from the Board Office.
(7) Hours completed to satisfy the requirements of Rule 64B2-11.012, F.A.C., shall satisfy the requirements of this rule.
(8) Subsequent to the renewal or reactivation period of a license, the Board may perform random audits of licensees for verification of attendance at programs indicated for CE credit on their reporting forms.
(9) Five hours of continuing chiropractic education in the subject area of risk management may be obtained by attending one full day or eight (8) hours of a Board meeting (whichever is shorter) at which disciplinary hearings are conducted by the Board of Chiropractic Medicine in compliance with the following:
(a) The licensee must sign in with the Executive Director of the Board or designee before the meeting day begins.
(b) The licensee must remain in continuous attendance.
(c) The licensee must sign out with the Executive Director of the Board or designee at the end of the meeting day or at such other earlier time as affirmatively authorized by the Board. A licensee may receive CE credit in risk management for attending the Board meeting only if he or she is attending on that date solely for that purpose; he or she may not receive such credit if appearing at the Board meeting for another purpose.
(10) In addition to the continuing chiropractic education credits authorized above, any volunteer expert witness who is providing expert witness opinions for cases being reviewed pursuant to Chapter 460, F.S., shall receive five (5) hours of credit in the area of risk management for each case reviewed up to a maximum of ten (10) hours per biennium. In this regard, volunteer expert witnesses are encouraged to perform a literature survey in conjunction with a review of cases for the Board.
(11) In addition to the continuing chiropractic education credits authorized above, a course instructor, for one presentation only per biennium, will receive credit for a continuing education program sponsored by a provider approved by the Board, except that credit will be limited to the number of credits for which the instructor was personally responsible and shall not exceed the credit allowed for attending the program.
(12) In addition to the continuing chiropractic education credits authorized above, test examiners who have passed their trainee period and were used by the Department during the biennium and test consultants who assist the department in writing and reviewing the questions for the laws and rules examination will receive two hours of laws and rules continuing education credit for the biennium.
(13) In addition to the continuing chiropractic education credits authorized above, former Board members will receive thirteen hours of continuing education credit for the required hours in laws and rules, risk management, prevention of medical errors, boundaries and ethics, and record-keeping and documentation per biennium for annual service on a Probable Cause Panel.
(14) Board members shall receive thirteen hours of continuing education for the required hours in laws and rules, risk management, prevention of medical errors, boundaries and ethics, and record-keeping and documentation credit for each full or partial biennium served on the Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>