In the state of North Carolina, Chiropractors are required to undergo chiropractic continuing education each year in order to renew their chiropractic license. The licensing process is governed by the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. The North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners can be reached at (704) 793-1342. The term of each license year is annual, per calendar year with license renewal due on January 1st. A fee of $150 is required for annual license renewal.
Basic Guidelines For Chiropractic Continuing Education In North Carolina
- Renewed Annually On January 1st
- Minimum Of 24 Continuing Education Hours
- Continuing Education hours must be approved by the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
- Up to 12 hours of Individual Study is allowed
* North Carolina Chiropractic Continuing Education requirements posted on this page are based upon the most up to date information available. North Carolina chiropractic continuing education requirements are subject to change and therefore, North Carolina Chiropractic licensee’s are ultimately responsible for being up to date with the North Carolina continuing education requirements.
* Information Last Updated 11/5/11
15. How much continuing education do I need to renew the license each year?
16. What is acceptable continuing education?
- Postgraduate education that deals with information that is within the scope of chiropractic (excluding practice building, insurance, etc.
- Seminars that have been reviewed and approved by the board.
- No Practice Management programs.
17. Must I renew my license each year?
18. How much does it cost to renew my license?
$150.00 (GS 90-155)
Yes, on or before the first Tuesday after the first Monday in January in each year after a license has been issued. (GS 90-155)
21 NCAC 10 .0210 INDIVIDUAL-STUDY CONTINUING EDUCATION
(a) Hours permitted. A doctor of chiropractic may obtain as many as 12 credit hours of continuing education each year by successfully completing one or more individual-study courses approved by the Board.
(b) Course approval. The criteria for Board approval of an individual-study course is as follows:
(1) No practice-building or motivational course shall be approved;
(2) No course shall be approved that requires participants, in order to utilize the information presented, to purchase equipment or clinical supplies available only through the course’s instructors, sponsors, or co-sponsors;
(3) each subject taught shall fall within the extent and limitation of chiropractic licensure in this State;
(4) The subject matter shall be presented in a logical, scientific manner comparable to instruction at chiropractic colleges accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education;
(5) The sponsor shall have a reliable methods for recording and verifying a doctor’s participation expressed in credit hours and fractions thereof, and the sponsor shall assume responsibility for submitting a certificate of participation to the Board within 60 days after a doctor completes the course;
(6) The course shall include one or more examinations or other means of verifying that a participating doctor has mastered the material presented in the course.
(c) Sponsor’s obligation. The sponsor shall provide all information the Board deems necessary to evaluate the course according to the foregoing criteria set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Failure to provide information required by the Board shall be a basis for withholding approval.