In the state of Texas, Chiropractors are required to undergo chiropractic continuing education each year in order to renew their chiropractic license. The licensing process is governed by the Texas Board Of Chiropractic Examiners. The Texas Board Of Chiropractic Examiners can be reached at (512) 305-6700. The term of each license year is annual, due the 1st day of the licensee’s birth month. A fee of $349 is required for annual license renewal.
Basic Guidelines For Chiropractic Continuing Education In Texas
- Renewed annually on the 1st day of the licensee’s birth month
- Minimum Of 16 Continuing Education Hours
- Continuing Education hours must be approved by the Texas State Board Of Chiropractic
Currently Approved Continuing Education Courses
- Up to 6 hours of Distance Learning is allowed
* Texas Chiropractic Continuing Education requirements posted on this page are based upon the most up to date information available. Texas chiropractic continuing education requirements are subject to change and therefore, Texas Chiropractic licensee’s are ultimately responsible for being up to date with the Texas continuing education requirements.
* Information Last Updated 10/30/11
Texas Administrative Code: Title 22: Part 3: Chapter 73: RULE §73.3
(a) Condition of Renewal. A licensee is required to attend continuing education courses as a condition of renewal of a license.
(1) Every licensee shall attend and complete 16 hours of continuing education each year unless a licensee is exempted under subsection (d) of this section. Each licensee’s reporting year shall begin on the first day of the month in which his or her birthday occurs.
(2) The 16 hours of continuing education may be completed at any course or seminar elected by the licensee, which has been approved under §73.7 of this title (relating to Approved Continuing Education Courses).
(A) A licensee must attend any course designated as a “TBCE Required Course,” and the course may be counted as part of the 16 hour requirement. Effective with all doctor of chiropractic licenses renewed on or after July 1, 2009, a minimum of four of the 16 required hours of continuing education shall include topics designated by the board.
(i) A minimum of two hours of the total required continuing education shall consist of an ethics course specifically related to the practice of chiropractic. In addition to the requirements in §73.7, an instructor for this continuing education must have a doctorate degree and must either have an active license to practice chiropractic or law or be part of the full-time faculty of a chiropractic college accredited by the Council of Chiropractic Education. This continuing education may not be taken online except as provided under paragraph (4) of this subsection.
(ii) A minimum of one hour of the total required continuing education shall relate to risk management relating to the Chiropractic Act, the board’s rules, and other laws relevant to the practice of chiropractic in Texas. For the purpose of this rule, risk management refers to the identification, investigation, analysis, and evaluation of risks and the selection of the most advantageous method of correcting, reducing, or eliminating, identifiable risks. In addition to the requirements in §73.7 of this title, a risk management instructor shall have a doctorate degree and must either have an active license to practice chiropractic or law or be part of the full-time faculty of a chiropractic college accredited by the Council of Chiropractic Education. This continuing education may be taken online through a course offered by the board.
(iii) A minimum of one hour of the total required continuing education shall consist of recordkeeping, documentation, and coding relevant to the practice of chiropractic in Texas. In addition to the requirements in §73.7 of this title, a recordkeeping, documentation, and coding instructor shall have a doctorate degree and must either have an active license to practice chiropractic or law or be part of the full-time faculty of a chiropractic college accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education. This continuing education may not be taken online except as provided under paragraph (4) of this subsection. Notwithstanding the requirements in this clause, all chiropractic licensees must complete at least eight hours of continuing education in coding and documentation for Medicare claims during either calendar year 2011 or 2012, except that licensees who receive their initial Texas chiropractic license on or after September 1, 2012, have 12 months after their initial licensure date to complete the eight hours of continuing education in coding and documentation for Medicare claims. No licensee who was initially licensed in Texas prior to September 1, 2012, shall be allowed to renew his or her chiropractic license at any time during calendar year 2013 unless he or she has completed the required eight hours of continuing education in coding and documentation for Medicare claims during either calendar year 2011 or 2012. Licensees who were initially licensed on or after September 1, 2012, must complete the eight hours of continuing education in coding and documentation for Medicare claims no later than one year after their initial licensure in order to be eligible to renew their licenses at their next renewal date on or following the first annual anniversary of their original licensure date. The eight hours of required continuing education in coding and documentation for Medicare claims may be counted as part of the total of 16 continuing education hours required during the year in which the eight hours were completed.
(iv) In addition, from time to time, the board may issue public memoranda regarding urgent or significant public health issues that licensees need to be aware of. The board will publish such memoranda on the board’s web site and distribute the memoranda to the major continuing education providers.
(B) A licensee who serves as an examiner for the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners’ Part IV Examination may receive credit for this activity, not to exceed eight (8) hours each year.
(C) No more than six hours or credit may be obtained through online courses.
(3) A list of approved courses, including TBCE Required Courses, is available on the board’s website, www.tbce.state.tx.us, as provided in §73.7(f) of this title. The board will also provide notice of a TBCE Course in its newsletter.
(4) A licensee who is unable to travel for the purpose of attending a continuing education course or seminar due to a mental or physical illness or disability may satisfy the board’s continuing education requirements by completing 16 hours of approved continuing education courses online. Video courses will no longer qualify for credit.
(A) If the licensee is unable to take an online course, the licensee must submit a request for special accommodations to complete their continuing education requirements.
(B) In order for an online course to be accepted by the board, a licensee must submit a letter from a licensed doctor of chiropractic, medicine, or osteopathy who is not associated with the licensee in any manner. In the letter, the doctor must state the nature of the illness or disability and certify that the licensee was ill or disabled, and unable to travel for the purpose of obtaining continuing education hours due to the illness or disability.
(C) A licensee is required to submit a new certificate for each year an exemption is sought. An untrue certification submitted to the board shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action as authorized by the Chiropractic Act, Occupations Code §201.501 and §201.502.
(D) The six hour limit provided in subsection (b)(2) of this section for online courses does not apply to a licensee who submits a certification under this subsection.
(1) At the request of the Board, a licensee shall submit, to the board, written verification from each sponsor, of the licensee’s attendance at and completion of each continuing education course which is used in the fulfillment of the required hours for all years requested.
(2) A licensee submitting hours as a National Boards examiner must submit written verification of the licensee’s participation from the National Boards, on National Boards letterhead. The verification must include the licensee’s name, board license number, and the date, time, and place of each examination attended by the licensee as an examiner.
(3) Failure to submit verification as required by paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be considered the same as failing to meet the continuing education requirements of subsection (b) of this section.
(d) Qualifying exemption. The following persons are exempt from the requirements of subsection (b) of this section:
(1) a licensee who holds an inactive Texas license. However, if at any time during the reporting year for which such exemption applies such person desires to practice chiropractic, such person shall not be entitled to practice chiropractic in Texas until all required hours of continuing education credits are obtained and the executive director has been notified of completion of such continuing education requirements;
(2) a licensee who served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the 12 months immediately preceding the annual license renewal date;
(3) a licensee who submits proof satisfactory to the board that the licensee suffered a mental or physical illness or disability which prevented the licensee from complying with the requirements of this section during the 12 months immediately preceding the annual license renewal date; or
(4) a licensee who is first licensed within the 12 months immediately preceding the annual renewal date.